Skip to main content
32nd KOBLENZ GUITAR FESTIVAL & ACADEMY Sunday 12th May - Monday 20th May 2024



Pieces played in one round cannot be repeated in any other round. The programme must be sent before 15th May 2022, 12.00pm CET to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

All active and passive Koblenz Guitar Festival participants are entitled to compete, without age limit.


1st Prize:
3.000€, Concert at the 31th  Koblenz Guitar Festival & Academy 2023, CD-Production made by Dipl. Tonmeister Moritz Reinisch, German Concert Tour in cooperation with and sponsored by the Koblenz International Guitar Society e.V., five-date concert tour at German conservatories with a fee of 500€ per concert plus travel expenses and accommodation, concerts in Brazil plus video production including flight, hotel accommodation and a fee of 500€ per concert all in collaboration with GuitarCoop and Cultura Artística São Paulo, 30 sets of Savarez strings, 20 sets of D'Addario strings

2nd Prize:
2.000 Euro, 25 sets of Savarez strings, 15 sets of D’Addario strings

3rd Prize:
1.000 Euro, 25 sets of Savarez strings, 10 sets of D’Addario strings


Premio Joaquín Rodrigo
500 Euro, CDs and scores provided by the Fundación Victoria y Joaquín Rodrigo for the best interpretation of music by Joaquín Rodrigo

Prêmio Heitor Villa-Lobos
500 Euro for the best interpretation of music by Heitor Villa-Lobos

Prix Savarez
500 Euro for the best interpretation of music by Johann Sebastian Bach

Preis der Koblenz International Guitar Society
500 Euro for the best interpretation of music by David Kellner

D´Addario Young Talent Award
500 Euro for the youngest participant qualified for the 2nd round

Preis Deutscher Tonkünstlerverband (Landesverband Nordrhein-Westfalen)

500 Euro for the best interpretation of an original work composed after 1975


  • Prof. Alfred Eickholt (Deutschland)
  • Prof. Dale Kavanagh (Kanada)
  • Prof. Dr. Stephen Goss (Großbritannien)
  • Prof. Alexander S. Ramirez (Deutschland/Peru)
  • Günter Schillings (Deutschland)
  • Prof. Judicaël Perroy (Frankreich)
  • Russell Poyner (Großbritannien/Deutschland)
  • Prof. Tomasz Zawierucha (Polen)
  • Marcelo Kayath (Brasilien)
  • Campbell Diamond (Australien)
  • Prof. Olaf Van Gonnissen (Deutschland)
  • Liying Zhu (China)
  • Jörg Gauchel (Deutschland)
  • Michael Mcmeeken (Schottland)
  • Prof. Goran Krivokapic (Deutschland/Montenegro)


§ 1. The Competition is part of the Koblenz International Guitar Festival & Academy.
§ 2. The Competition is held in three rounds the details of which are completely explained on the Festival Website.
§ 3. If the time limit is exceeded, the Head of the Jury may cut off the performance at that point.
§ 4. Pieces played in one round may not be repeated in a later round.
§ 5. There will be a maximum of 20 candidates chosen for the Round 2, and a maximum of 6 candidates chosen for the Final Round.
§ 6. The score will be made in a point system ranging from 0 to 25.
§ 7. The highest and the lowest points of each candidate will be discounted when the points are added together to calculate their score.
§ 8. Where candidates receive an equal score, the score from the previous rounds will serve to distinguish them.
§ 9. The score cannot be approximated or rounded off.
§ 10. The scores will be calculated to only two decimal places.
§ 11. Each jury member must keep their score sheet in the score sheet folder and at the end of each round, must hand over their signed copy to the Head of the Jury.
§ 12. No jury member should give points to their own students.
§ 13. The jury within a particular round cannot be changed.
§ 14. The First Prize may only be awarded for a polished performance of a high artistic standard.
§ 15. The First Prize cannot be shared.
§ 16. Where no First Prize is awarded, the Second Prize can be shared.
§ 17. Where there is no Second Prize awarded, the Third Prize could be shared.
§ 18. Where neither a First nor Second Prize is awarded, the jury may choose to award two Third Prizes.
§ 19. The special prizes will be awarded only for works played in the 2nd round of the competition.
§ 20. All jury members are required to maintain confidentiality; they must be objective and neutral in their judgement. If any jury member should act contrary to this requirement, the Festival Director reserves the right to remove them from the jury.
§ 21. Jury discussions must be mutually respectful, following the guidance of the Head of the Jury.
§ 22. All decisions of the jury must follow the view of the majority.
§ 23. If the number of competitors exceeds 70, then two juries might be established in the First Round. After the 1st round is completed, the Jury President can decide to call an additional intermediate round. A maximum of 10 competitors will be given the opportunity to perform again their programme from the first round for the complete jury. The number of points received in the intermediate round, will be used to judge if competitors proceed to the 2nd round.
§ 24. Only the German version of these rules are binding.
§ 25. The winners agree to perform in the winners' concert.

signed: Prof. Georg Schmitz (Direktor Koblenz Guitar Festival & Academy)


1. Prize Filippos Manoloudis, Greece

2. Prize Dragos Ilie, Romania

3. Prize Alexia Knopp, France


Special Prizes:

D‘Addario Young Talent Award:
Samuel Solomon, Bulgaria

Preis der Koblenz Guitar Society:
Danijel Dondjivic, Serbia

Preis Deutscher Tonkünstlerverband NRW:
Emma Schützmann, Germany

Prêmio Heitor Villa-Lobos:
Miguel de Oliveira Mandelli, Brazil

Prix Savarez:
Alexia Knopp, France

Premio Joaquín Rodrigo:
Dragos Ilie, Romania

Finalisten-Diplom/Finalist‘s Diploma:
Emma Schützmann, Germany
Jeseok Bang, Korea
Chinnawat Themkumkwun, Thailand

Congratulations to all prize winners and finalists!

Results: Koblenz International Guitar Competition Hubert Käppel 2021

1. Prize: Carlo Curatolo (Italy)

3. Prize: Jeseok Bang (Korea)

3. Prize: Airam de Vera Ramos (Spain)

No 2nd prize was awarded.

Special Prizes:

D'Addario Nachwuchs-Förderpreis: Emilio Lutz (Germany)

Prix Savarez: Andrea Mondolfo (Austria)

Preis der Koblenz Guitar Society: Lipeng Wang (China)

Premio Joaquín Rodrigo: Lipeng Wang (China)

DotGuitar Prize: Carlo Curatolo (Italy)

Prêmio Heitor Villa-Lobos: Airam de Vera Ramos (Spain)

Congratulations to all prize winners and finalists!